VDC test kit slider
VDC-Banner-new_468
Hi, i have severe bile acid malabsorption, basically i can’t digest any of the fat soluble vitamins. My question is this- so i can’t absorb these properly, naturally, via food ( i’ve had b12, vit and vit d extreme deficiencies so far), will i be better able to absorb them in tablet form (well, injections for b12). Also, how often should i be tested for all vitamin deficiencies? Thanks for any help, Amanda

Asked by  Manda999 on April 23, 2019

Answers
  •  Manda999 on

See title

Answered by  Manda999 on
  •  IAW on

Sorry Amanda, I am not a doctor. Several suggestions for the Vitamin D would be the following. Sometimes people with “gut” issues can take larger amounts of D knowing they will not absorb a lot of it. For example if you weigh around 150lbs, then if you take 5000iu of D3 daily, this should give you a level of 50ng/ml in 8 weeks time. For you, you might have to take 10,000iu (or more) to get to that same level of 50ng/ml. This may take a lot of “trial and error” and testing to figure out what amount is best. Vitamin D “oral sprays” work really well and absorb by oral means rather than thru the gastrointestinal tracked. You may also be able to “rub” a Vitamin D “drop” on the inside of your cheeks which is basically the same as the oral spray. It also works to place Vitamin D, in an oil, and rub it on your skin. The last would be “sunshine” or when that is not available, for example winter, then a “sun lamp”.
    If you know you are D deficient right now. I would do the following.