VDC test kit slider
VDC-Banner-new_468
Hello! I’m in Scotland, UK (ie no sunshine). Have found your site very useful. My D levels have just been tested at 27ng, which I see is considered to be in the ‘insufficient’ rather than deficient range. I’m suffering from fairly widespread joint pain & aching, particularly knees/lower legs/feet. Could my levels account for these symptoms, even though I’m not technically deficient? I’m 48, otherwise fit, healthy & active though currently struggling to maintain my usual exercise regime. I’m also perimenopausal and I know my symptoms could also be attributed to low estrogen, but it just all feels a bit extreme and coincidental! Thanks in advance for any insight and advice. Sally

Asked by  SallyG on July 9, 2019

Answers
  •  SallyG on

See title

Answered by  SallyG on
  •  IAW on

Yes SallyG your symptoms are most likely from low D.
    At levels at and below 30ng/ml, calcium cannot absorb correctly from the intestines. At levels at and below 40ng/ml, your risk for cancer and autoimmune diseases rises “dramatically”. Some cancers by 60%.
    We here at the VDC recommend maintaining a “healthy” level of 50ng/ml. As you can see you are very deficient by our standards. There must be a little sunshine in your D level or most likely it would be a lot lower.
    Since you have symptoms, I would treat yourself by taking 8000-10,000iu of D3 per day for 8 weeks. Vitamin D is based on weight so if you weigh a lot more than 150lbs, let me know.
    If in 8 weeks your symptoms are all gone, then take a maintenance dose of 5000iu a day, forever. If you are not totally well in 8 weeks, then retest your level and come back and tell me what your new level is.
    It is very important to read http://www.vitamindcouncil.org/about-vitamin-d/vitamin-d-and-other-vitamins-and-minerals/.
    If you have any more questions, just ask!

Answered by  IAW on
  •  SallyG on